Mathew/Mathew Win Empire State Performance Rally


Mathew/Mathew Win Empire State Performance Rally

Mathew/Mathew Win Empire State Performance Rally

Potts/Sandgaard Take Two Wheel Drive Competition

The British-Canadian brother/sister team of Nick and Kelly Mathew (Subaru Impreza WRX STI) had not competed on a rally in the United States before, nor had they rallied on pavement. But they must have found the tarmac of the Catskill Mountains in New York State to their liking. The duo took the lead on the first day of the Empire State Performance Rally, and maintained their edge on the second to win by over three minutes.


Michael O’Leary/Marcel Ciascai (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X) placed second after a clean run, a further minute ahead of two-wheel-drive category winners Eric Potts/Joachim Sandgaard (Ford Focus ZX3). Potts admitted afterward that, late in the event, the car’s exhaust developed a small leak just ahead of the turbocharger, which may have resulted in a drop in horsepower. But what performance remained was clearly enough.
Donal Crooke/Bruce Leonard (Subaru Impreza WRX STI) was fourth at the finish. Their car suffered a small fire in the engine compartment at the end of the final special stage (speed test), thought to be result of a leak in an oil or brake line, but Leonard quickly doused it using the car’s fire extinguisher.


Kevin Allen/Elizabeth Cordara (Subaru Impreza) was next. They paused on the last special stage to check on a competitor who was sidelined with mechanical problems, which may have cost them precious seconds, but apparently not a place in the standings.
Sixth through tenth places resulted in the race of the rally, with all five cars finishing within ten seconds. Alex Kuklov/Christopher Rosato (Subaru Impreza 2.5RS) and Peter Guagenti/Matthew Rhoads (BMW M3) tied for sixth, their final score matching to the second. Guagenti/Rhoads were also runners-up in the two-wheel-drive class. The third-best 2WD car of Dmitriy Martynov/Daniel Salive (Subaru Impreza) placed eighth overall, a further second back. Michael Reilly/Josh Benthien (Ford Focus, last year’s 2WD winner and overall runner-up) were ninth, eight seconds behind Martynov, after an ignition problem which their mechanics were unable to fully rectify. And Erika Detota/Mary B. Warren (Subaru Impreza, 2013 2WD runners-up) were tenth, one more second back.


The Empire State Performance Rally is a 164-mile automotive competition on the roads of Sullivan Country, New York, based in the town of Rock Hill. It includes 102 miles of special stages, run against the clock on roads which are temporarily closed to non-rally traffic. The “ESPR” is unique among performance rallies in the U.S. in that all of the special stages are on pavement. The event is sanctioned by the National Auto Sports Association.

Final standings:
1. Nick Mathew/Kelly Mathew (Subaru Impreza WRX STI, AWD class)
2. Michael O’Leary/Marcel Ciascai (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X, AWD)
3. Eric Potts/Joachim Sandgaard (Ford Focus ZX3, 2WD)
4. Donal Crooke/Bruce Leonard (Subaru Impreza WRX ST, AWD)
5. Kevin Allen/Elizabeth Cordara (Subaru Impreza, AWD)
6. Alex Kuklov/Christopher Rosato (Subaru Impreza 2.5RS, AWD)
7. Peter Guagenti/Matthew Rhoads (BMW M3, 2WD)
8. Dmitriy Martynov/Daniel Salive (Subaru Impreza,2WD)
9. Michael Reilly/Josh Benthien (Ford Focus, 2WD)
10. Erika Detota/Mary B. Warren (Subaru Impreza, 2WD)
11. Jack Lewis/Helga Lewis (Porsche 911 Carrera RS, 2WD)
12. Larry Duane/Brian Heneghan (Ford Escort Mk. 2, 2WD)
13. Scott Beliveau/James Beliveau (Volkswagen Golf GTI, 2WD)
14. Daniel Petrillo/Christopher Stew (Subaru Impreza WRX STI, AWD)
15. Jim Kelly/Dean Thuline (Ford Escort GT, 2WD)
16. Simon Wright/Kieran Wright (Subaru Impreza, AWD)
17. Scott Spears/Steven Harrell (Subaru Impreza WRX STI, AWD)
For further information, contact: Thomas Barker, Press Officer
Phone 203-229-0718 or Email

No Comments

Post a Comment